You Can’t Make Old Friends – Day 6

Standard


The slow ripening fruit of friendship should never be neglected or taken for granted. I cherish the friends I have collected over the years and have come to realize how important it is to surround myself with people who make me feel good. I was lucky enough to have a gathering of these folks at the bungalow  to hang out, catch up, eat, drink and be merry for a little while. Nothing feels better than to be lavished with positive vibrations, love and acceptance. 

Had to take care of a few things first with this little guy. Elliott was a hit at the local Home Depot yesterday. But of course! 

The weather was absolutely perfect. Not too hot. No rain or thunder. And thankfully no late summer snow! Each and every friendship has its own unique origin and history dating as far back as the early 1980’s. I share a distinctive bond with each and every one, for which I am grateful. Skin care, surrogate sister, volunteering, neighbors, music, idea swapping, adoption and dancing. Each connection as special as the individual themself. 

I love that Elliott was captured front and center! 

We shared food, stories, experiences, laughter and advice. Whether a brief stay or for the duration, each of these people made the effort to come see Elliott and I at our precious little bungalow and spend some time with us. Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

I roped a few willing participants into setting off sparklers and acting silly for a few minutes. The sound when the tip of the sparkler first sparks. That certain smell. The memories of past 4th of July celebrations. Loved it! Thanks for humoring me! 

As opposed as she was to taking a selfie, I think this turned out pretty darn good. Thanks Kik! I can always count on you to play along! Love ya! 

And no visit would be complete without some one on one time with my dear friend Earnie. We moved inside as the night air became chilly and had some philosophical and meaningful discussions. Earnie is my bud!! 

Heartfelt appreciation for the time I had with everyone. Friends are the sunshine of life. We all need them. And as the Golden Girls theme song goes, “Thank you for being a friend. Traveled down the road and back again. Your heart is true you’re a pal and a confidant.” 
I will take this evening with me in my heart. Until next time…
 

Leave a Reply

